CUET Exam Pattern and Marking Scheme


The CUET Exam, also known as the Common University Entrance Test, is a common entrance exam that will be administered by NTA for UG admissions at all Central Universities in India. A total of 54 Central Universities will offer admission to UG courses based on the NTA’s CUET score. Some crucial information about the CUET Exam is as follows:

Exam NameCentral University Common Entrance Test (CUET
Number of Questions

Section 1: Languages (50 Questions to be attempted out of 40 Questions)

Section 2: Domain-Specific (50 Questions to be attempted out of 40 Questions)

Section 3: General Test (60 Questions to be attempted out of 50 Questions)

Number of Sections3 Sections (Language, Domain-Specific, General Test)
Exam LanguageThe exam will be conducted in 13 languages.


CUET is going to be one of the most competitive exams for entering the UG program. Before you start preparing for the CUET exam you must know the basic details like the syllabus of CUET, Preparation For CUET, Marking scheme of CUET, and Exam pattern for CUET. 

The below table is the exam pattern for the CUET exam.

SectionsSubjects/ TestsNo. of QuestionsTo be Attempted
Section IA13 Languages 5040 in each language
Section IB19 Languages   
Section II27 Domain-specific Subjects 5040
Section IIIGeneral Test6050

CUET Marking Scheme:

The National Testing Agency (NTA) has finally confirmed the CUET Exam Pattern and Marking Scheme for the upcoming exam in July. According to the official CUET notification, 5 marks will be awarded for each correct attempt. One mark will be deducted for each incorrect attempt. There will be no penalty for questions that are not attempted.

Ready to Crack CUET EXAM?

To prepare for the CUET entrance exam Prepguru is your best bet. We are offering various online interactive classes, mock tests and practice sheets prepared by experienced professionals of central university. To book your seat to a demo class please click here!